Duato Nacho

Duato Nacho
Permalink: http://www.balletbase.com/Nacho-Duato

Classical Ballet / Artistic Director / Choreographer

Born in Valencia, Spain. Duato signed his first professional contract with the Cullberg Ballet in Stockholm in 1980 and a year later Jiří Kylián brought him to the Nederlands Dans Theater in Holland, where he was quickly assimilated into the company and its repertoire. In recognition of his achievement as a dancer, Duato received the Golden Dance Award in Schouwburgen, Netherlands in 1987. Duato’s natural talent as a dancer led him to begin exploring choreography, and his first attempt at it in 1983 turned into a major success: Jardí Tancat, set to Catalanan music by fellow SpaniardMª del Mar Bonet won him the first prize at the International Choreographic Workshop in Cologne. In 1988 Nacho Duato was named Resident Choreographer for Nederlands Dans Theater alongside Hans van Manen and Jiří Kylián.

Nacho Duato had been the Artistic Director of Compa—ía Nacional de Danza since June of 1990, when he was invited to take the position by the Instituto Nacional de las Artes Escénicas y de la Música of the Spanish Ministry of Culture. In 2010, he celebrated his XX Anniversary with the Compa—ía Nacional de Danza, leaving in July of that year.

In July 2010, Nacho Duato announced that he would lead the Mikhailovsky Ballet as company’s Artistic Director from 1 January 2011.

  • Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres 1995
  • Golden Medal for Merit in the Fine Arts in Spain 1998
  • Lauriate of Benois de la Danse prize 2000
  • Winner of Spain’s National Dance Award 2003
  • Awarded with the Chile Arts Critics Circle Prize 2010

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>



  • Mikhailovsky Ballet
    St. Petersburg


  • Por Vos Muero
    by Nacho Duato 1996
  • Without Words
    by Nacho Duato 1998
  • In the Forest
    by N. Duato 1990