Western Symphony

by George Balanchine 1954

Music: Hershy Kay (1954, commissioned by the New York City Ballet; themes: 'Red River Valley,' 'Old Taylor,' 'Rye Whiskey,' 'Lolly-Too-Dum,' 'Good Night, Ladies,' 'Oh, Dem Golden Slippers,' 'The Girl I Left Behind Me')

Choreography: George Balanchin

Lighting: Jean Rosenthal

World premiere: 7 September 1954, New York City Ballet, City Center of Music and Drama, New York

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>