Scotch Symphony

by George Balanchine 1952

Music: Felix Mendelssohn (Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 56, 'Scotch,' 1842 [first movement omitted])

Choreography: George Balanchine

Scenery: Horace Armistead

Scenery painted: Scenic Studios

Women's costumes: Karinska

Men's costumes: David Ffolkes

Lighting: Jean Rosenthal

World premiere: 11 November 1952, New York City Ballet; City Center of Music and Drama, New York

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>